In Search of the Miraculous: The Definitive Exploration of G. I. Gurdjieff's Mystical Thought and Universal View (Harvest Book)

£9.9
FREE Shipping

In Search of the Miraculous: The Definitive Exploration of G. I. Gurdjieff's Mystical Thought and Universal View (Harvest Book)

In Search of the Miraculous: The Definitive Exploration of G. I. Gurdjieff's Mystical Thought and Universal View (Harvest Book)

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

All the attributes of man—freedom, understanding, love, creativity—are not his until he works for them. There are the traditional paths to spiritual knowledge – those of the fakir, the monk, and the yogi – but each of these he considered too one-sided, as they tend to focus too much on either the physical, the emotional, or the intellectual aspect of self-knowledge.

Throughout the last year and a half or so of reading this book, it forced me time and again to rethink the degree of control I have over my own life, to question dominant norms and values, to assess whether I am spending my energy correctly, and generally just to think of ways to improve myself. He set up his own organisation, The Society for the Study of Normal Psychology, which is now known as The Study Society. She was the product of generations of Italian-American Catholics, and was determined to find some miracle to cure her father with whom she has a very special bond. The work, as reflected in its title, shows the influence of Francis Bacon and Max Müller, and has been interpreted as an attempt to reconcile ideas from natural science and religious studies with esoteric teachings in the tradition of Gurdjieff and Theosophy.When I went to see the exhibition of Remedios Varo I saw a book that interested me among his collection, one of Peter D.

This book is a good introduction to Gurdjieff's teachings, presented in a clear and understandable way by the author, who was a student of Gurdjieff himself from 1915 to 1924. In this book he tells us how he met his teacher (who was simply a seeker who had heard multiple theories and studied with several teachers in the East) and how he became his disciple.In these pages you will learn the way of the fakir, the monk, and the yogi, and, with a little luck, something about your own impermanent "I. Accepting that my son has had to repeat instructions for a password program more than three times so I could finally grasp the concept. It was said of Ouspensky that, though nonreligious, he had one prayer: not to become famous during his lifetime. He holds a pessimistic view of the ability of any person to free themselves from this bondage (hence the inevitable failure of New Years's resolutions) except for the intervention of a higher power, or teacher. You get the feeling that there was something magical about being part of G's community, but that something is very hard to translate into words, even for someone as eloquent as Ouspensky.

Accepting aging includes looking in the mirror and seeing an elderly woman, recognizing that my body will take twice as long to heal at 78 than at 38. Once this is achieved, what need will there be to protect the species and habitats from which these molecules came? Subatomic particles, radiation (the craze to label every new thing a "this ray" and "that ray") and relativity were cutting edge science at the time and seemed to open up a previously unsuspected invisible realm.His teachings sidestepped the symbols and mysticism of ancient esoteric initiation systems, in favor of a direct approach that could perhaps be described as cosmic-atomic psychology. Like the idea of the centers, once the ideas of the law of three forces and the law of the octave are introduced they become a permanent part of all future discussion. Rochester, New York: Manas Press, 1920; New York: Knopf, 1922; London: Kegan Paul, Trench, Trubner, 1923, 1934; 3rd American edition, New York: Knopf, 1945. Miracle Hunter (w/t) will feature magnetic boys in Croatia and Serbia’s million volt “Human battery”.

I’m never sure if the quotes on the internet were truly spoken by the person, but Einstein was a genius, and I like the idea of him seeing all he discovered as miracles. The deepest and most important change of human nature comes about, according to Gurdjieff, through the assimilation of the energy of impressions, and this takes place through the work of awareness without dire efforts to make changes. Nonetheless, she traveled from Rhode Island to El Santuario de Chimayo in New Mexico to bring home a miracle for her dying father. Volinsky, an acquaintance of Ouspensky in Russia, mentioned to him that this was what Wundt meant by apperception.Nomina anche la chimica dicendo che la chimica insegnata da questa scuola antica è diversa da quella comunemente conosciuta, e un atomo, un elettrone, una molecola, etc. Set against World War I and the coming of the bolsheviks this book reads as a wonderful tale of history in turmoil and intense personal discovery. The most crucial idea here, which has already been introduced but is now given a telling practical import, is Gurdjieff’s teaching about evolution. Simon Farnaby, who most recently fronted Channel 4’s hit documentary The King Under the Car Park, will turn miracle hunter and fulfil his childhood dream of coming face to face with a superhero.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop